A trip to Maastricht

It wasn't hard to find the art supplier shop in Maastricht, even though it was the first time. The one I used to go to in Heerlen, closed its doors just before Christmas. Harder was it to find my way out of town. I mean my way. The way where I would have loved to drive. I approached the northernmost bridge of the city, where you used to go up a kind of ring road following a steep cycling path, with a lot of enthusiasm. I thought about how we used to cycle here when we were still living in Maastricht.
But when I reached the viaduct, I did not see anything that looked like a bicycle road. I only saw the one I was already on and that would lead me to Lanaken in Belgium.
I felt very silly. It was like this was a different city. I had to ask for the best way to Meerssen because that was where I was heading.
I understood that there is just no other way to go across the river Maas. I had to go back into the center to go across the river the usual way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.