New York

It's 28 years since we last had a horse and carriage ride. I visited Rich in Pennsylvania and we stopped in New York before my flight home. I'm pretty good at picking up my things but somehow managed to leave my passport on the carriage. I'm pretty dreadful at remembering faces but luckily, Rich isn't. So we dashed back and waited for the carriage to come by again and there my bag and passport were, under the seat.

I've been admiring the Krakow horse and carriages since we arrived and today Rich fancied a trip round the city in one before we caught our flight home. Another beautiful, still and sunny day made it an absolute delight. 

We'd already walked north to the remains of the outer wall and market beyond. We nearly bought some art there but decided it wasn't quite what we were looking for. 

We headed in to Camelot (blipped), a wonderfully quirky cafe with a fabulous atmosphere, deciding against the underground museum and plumping for the outdoor ride in the sunshine instead.

We whiled away an hour with last drinks on the square. After thinking I was travel queasy on the horse and not fancying lunch, I've realised my stomach is feeling abroad so it's about time we headed home.

It's been a seriously good weekend of delicious food, admiring architecture, absorbing the friendly atmosphere and being disturbed by history and mankind. 

A peculiar combination but one absolutely not to be missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.