Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Red (actually blue) letter day

One of the highlights of last summer’s trip to Romania was meeting up with two of my former students after more than quarter of a century. They were then about 13 years old.
We’ve been in contact since on ‘Messenger’ but today I received a 13 page letter, begun in December, from one of them, in answer to one I sent to her.
I’m reverting to communications written by hand, with a fountain pen, to supplement ‘chats’ on Messenger so it was delightful to receive a real handwritten (with a fountain pen) letter from her.
She wrote partly in excellent English, but she remembered I had said it would be ‘nice’ to receive something in Romanian so partly in her language. She also remembered I had said I was particularly fond of a Romanian poet, LabiČ™, so wrote out a couple of his poems for me.
A real red letter day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.