weewilkie

By weewilkie

the Spring tide raises the land

Midday, I am driving to Langbank for lunch with my brother. A wee thank you to him for helping me when things fell apart recently. As I follow the flow of the traffic west, there is a high Spring tide that has raised the firth and its surroundings. My heart too feels buoyant as I travel through the sodden fields to my left, the raised river to my right.
The high tide has brought half a hundred oystercatchers from the water's edge, over the motorway and into the fields to poke about for food. And something startles them and they scatter as one eruption of black and white with flash of orange. It makes me smile, lifts my expression. This natural lifting, this sense that life can be lighter than the troubles it brings. On I go. My beloved is everywhere. Ahead snowdrops litter the hillside like wedding confetti.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.