Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

Degree - done

I heard about the BABE degree (BA Business and Enterprise at Napier University) one year and three days ago. Cyclops had been to a meeting where it had been mentioned and he told me about it while we had a pint before his work Christmas party.

Today I finished it. So that was efficient!

The BABE degree is set up for people working full time and it is a very practical course. You have a full day of contact time approximately once a month, and assignments to be doing in the mean time. All of the assignments are based on a real business and you can choose the business. I was able to base 80% of the assignments on my own business, so that worked out really well for me. It meant I got out of the course exactly what I wanted to, which was to be guided through some strategic thinking to justify what I am doing and decide what I should do next. It was absolutely worth the time and money investment for me and I highly recommend it.

The whole thing comprises six modules and takes a calendar year, and you can start at any of three points during the year. It is an Ordinary (i.e. not an honours) degree and if you are wondering how it takes a year, you essentially get direct entry into final year based either on having a degree already or your work-based CPD. Most of the people in my cohort had not taken a degree before, but there were some who had and a few self-employed people like me.

If you fancy having a go yourself, here's the website - or drop me a comment and I can get in touch and tell you more.

Today I had to hand in my final two assignments, and give a presentation. All went well, so job done. I'm certain I've passed and I'm almost certain I have passed with distinction. I will get confirmation of my pass and grade in January and will graduate in the summer.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.