Helping to make plum jam

Quite a number of years ago we planted a plum tree. It would have been after we had completed the renovations on the beachhouse, because where it is it would not have survived the activities of builders, Not only moving the house a couple of metres towards the road, and back again. The plum tree is close to the fence with the next property, and that fence was built after the renovations. As was the shed which is also close.

Even so, the tree has been there since 2012 or 2013. Last year was the first year that there were more than random plums on it. Most of those fed the birds and insects.

BUT THIS YEAR WAS DIFFERENT!

Early on, I noticed that there was a lot of fruit setting, and almost all of those developed into plums of an excellent size, and shape. It is a Luisa Plum. Plums were rescued from the ground and bits chopped off before eating raw, or stewing to be added to muesli and yoghurt for breakfast. We resisted picking them.

Last weekend I began my involvement in the making of the plum jam. 
1   I picked up all the fallen plums that were not too grotty
2   I then picked the remaining plums on the tree
3   We then put the plums into containers to bring back with us on Sunday
4   We found space in the apartment fridge
     (Today, S prepared the fruit to go into the pot for jam making)
5  I chose a number of saved jars and lids from where they were stored
6  I took my hammer to the plum stones and harvested the kernels to put into the cooking jam tied up in a cloth
7  I tightened the lids to encourage a seal.

My input was indispensable. The broken stone pieces have been added to those pots on the deck which already have pistachio shells as mulch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.