madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

What a view!

Bumped into a fellow dog walker friend on the way to the woods - we used to meet with our previous dogs and now we both have a new one! They got on like a house on fire! I had to turn back as was getting a battery for the chicken fence delivered. Lo I bumped into another friend with his dog on the way down and we chattted and then he invited me back for a cuppa and would not hear about me heading home to receive delivery of the battery!  He has the best view over the valley, taking in Cotehele woods and you can just make out the quay buildings on the right. The big white house is a school run by the Priory for maladjusted children. He is about to take early retirement fromn the BBC where he is a local presenter - he plans to take a spanish degree! He is already parttime so it won't be a major adjustment for him. When I got home the battery was on my doorstep!
I forget to say the previous night I had a message from the coop member doing the shut up - they had already been put to bed. NO! I was supposed to have opened them for the coop member as he was away for his mothers funeral! I threw on my coat and shoes, grabbed my head torch and drove there like a maniac! They all looked a little bemused when I opened the door and shone my light in! I gave them water and feed, the four newbies came out to eat and drink but the others stayed inside and I had to put some bowls inside and sit on the step with my headtorch lighting upthe interior! Took half an hour before they all began to settle down to sleep again! Very relieved they all seemed quite happy - if hungry and very thirsty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.