Mr John

By MrJohn

Joyce .....

..... at number 32.

This is the second of my contributions to the one street thread in which I am taking portraits of my neighbours in their houses. Today's portrait is of Joyce who lives over the road at number 32. Joyce is a lovely lady who always greets you with a cheery smile. Occassionally I carry larger items home from town for Joyce as she dosn't drive and sometimes struggles a bit to get shopping home. Today Joyce had asked if I could drop her off a small Christmas tree that she had bought after work.

Whilst I was at Joyce's I took the opportunity to ask her if she would pose for one of my portraits. She said " I'm not very photogenic " ( I beg to differ ) but she was happy for me to take a photo. I've always loved Joyce's copper wallpaper that throws a golden hue over everything in the room.

I was discussing the wallpaper with Joyce as I took a couple of quick photos of her and she said....

" Guess how old it is "

Me : " oh, I dont know, 30 years ? "

Joyce : " Guess again "

Me : " 35 ? "

Joyce : " No, it's fourty years since my late husband put it up, it was the year our daughter got married, he always liked that paper "


Bless her, Joyce had a far away look in her eyes as she talked about her late husband, who she obviously misses dearly. So today's blip is .....


..... Joyce at number 32.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.