The second half of life..

By twigs

Murchison Lime Works

I was tempted to get up when I woke up at 5.3oam and try to leave, knowing that I wouldn't be able to manoeuvre out from behind the noisy neighbours from last night so would 'need' to wake them.  In the end I drifted back to sleep and woke again at about 7.30.  Up, breakfast coffee, cruisey start.  The noise-mongers were up a little later but in the end, I decided just to relax enjoy the time I had.

Took a very slow drive to tonight's stopping spot at Fox River, north of Punakaiki.  It's a location I've thoguht about stopping at in the past so in keeping with my mantra for this trip - just do it! - I did.

One of the luxuries my new van affords me is a TV with a satellite conection.  I didn't actively seek this out when I was looking for a van - it just happens Gerty came with it.  I really don't watch TV a great deal.....my go-to is the news and Seven Sharp which I don't like to miss if I can help it so, with the TV avaialable in the van, I still can keep up with the goings on in the world.  Unfortunately, having parked at the very full Fox River site I couldn't pick up a connection. I knew there was one available as I'd had one just down the road when the news started so I quickly took Gerty over the road into more open space and sure enough - great connection.  About 15 mins into my viewing I noticed a vehicle pull up and was very surprised to then hear a knock at my door......As I opened the door my eyes were greeted by a young man with an impressive set of dreadlocks kept off his face by a broad headband, a full set of naturally maintained facial hair and dressed in what I call hippie pants - a ballooning style with a crutch slung somewhere around his knees.  

The young man introduced himself as the local council's freedom camping inspector (or something very similar) and very politely asked me if I was aware this was a no-camping area?  I hurriedly explained that I did and that I wasn't camping there, I was actually going to stay at the camp over the road, I just came over here to get reception..............

He listened then out of the blue asked if I used to be a teacher......yes........at WC........yes.........was my name CF.........YES!!!  Turns out he was a young man I used to teach some 13 or 14 years ago who, at that stage was a clean shaven, blond, short back and sides, conservatively groomed conformist.  What a great memory he has too!  How fantastic to see that he is so happy in his skin, and his new life here on the Coast which clearly 'fits' him beautifully.  And what an unbelievably small country this is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.