Hidden Gem

I was given a spreadsheet with what seemed to be about 10 random sculptures in Glasgow.    Most I had photographed already or had in my plans but this one was completely new to me.  Its a Mural in a smart Business Park building which was formerly a cigarette factory.

Its an early work by Andy Scott (the Kelpies) and the interesting thing is that no one seemd to know about it including people who walk past it every day.   Its not an ideal location in a dark underpass in the South Wing.   In fact I attempted it yesterday but even with massively high ISO I couldn't get decent pictures.  And with the lights on there was a horrible colour cast. So I returned today with Tripod and did bracketed exposures.    I've shown a couple of the panels together with a context picture showing the location.   The description I was given in the spreadheet is shown below if you can be bothered to read it.


Three-piece sculptural frieze. Mining, ship-building and engineering are some of the traditional industries represented on the shorter panels of the frieze, with the modern occupations of computing and research flanking an image of City Park itself in the centre of the middle panel. Also on this panel, artistic endeavour is included with examples of Art Nouveau  and Macintosh design.   Work of Alexander Greek Thomson is found in the patterns on column capitals at either end of this panel.  Prominent architecture such as the Victorian Gothic Revival of Glasgow University,  through the Art Deco City Park building, to the outline of the city's very modern Clyde Auditorium.  Scott’s Heavy Horse stands beside the equestrian statue of the Duke of Wellington, the latter sporting the ever-present traffic cone on his head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.