alternative outcomes

Woke up to what looked and sounded like gale force winds that sent the plane trees dancing alarmingly close to my window, laced with an uninviting horizontal sleet snow combo that lasted all day.  Plans to go with friends to Taksim to watch the rugby in the Irish pub were ditched in favour of my own TV. A restless day, voluntarily house bound, bored in the way that weekends can bring, often called "down time" for when we legitimise the lethargy by giving it a healthy sounding name, then there's no need to feel guilty, is there?  The photo is an afternoon shot of the ice on my bathroom skylight, the shadows are the trees above. 

Sean joined me to watch Scotland lose to France.  England v Wales was a better game - always brings conflict for me as the land of my Mum's fathers is mid-Wales - oh how we all loved Gareth Edwards.  So, although I would have preferred an England win, I am content that the better side won tonight. In both games. Let's see what Ireland's got tomorrow. 

By the time darkness was falling, the wind had dropped and the sleet had turned to full on snow fall that settled all around, turning as it does, campus in to a magical, silent world of stark contrasts. (extra taken at 22.30)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.