It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Bahhhh Humbug

I'm sure it was a globalising venture capitalist who dreamt up the phrase "it's the thought that counts". For many years now I've been press ganged into 'Secret Santa. However, this year.....no more!

You see, I always end up trailing around the shops looking for something that's not a complete waste of money for someone that I don't really know. Invariably, I buy some fancy food-stuff as it's the type of thing I would ideally like to receive as it won't go straight in the bin. Invariably, I receive something like a comb which everyone finds very funny as I'm bald! It goes straight in the bin.

Last year, a really thoughtful person bought me coffee because they know I am obsessed with the stuff. Unfortunately, it was pre-ground and of unknown origin. To me, that's tantamount to buying me a Starbucks voucher.....very thoughtful but I'd rather eat poo than use it. Now all this sounds very ungrateful but it's not. I'd much rather people gave to charity or spent a little more on buying ethically produced and worthwhile goods for people they truly love.

I think George Monbiot's article in Monday's Guardian summed it up nicely.

Today was quite uneventful. I wanted to have a run after work but the ground is so hard and icy; not ideal for my knee which is a bit sore. Rather, I went into town and had a rather nice Rwandan Musasa from Square Mile @ NTP. I struggled to describe it apart from smooth, sweet and balanced perfectly. Maybe a hint of slightly 'under' caramel. It lacked the character I so like.....more Mozart than acid house, but pleasurable all the same.

Unfortunately, a guy started to have an epileptic fit in the corner of the cafe.....someone was looking after him before I even noticed. I did go over to check he was being looked after appropriately and he was. Everything seemed fine when I left.

The train was noisy on the way home.....I couldn't find my Ipod and hope I have left it at work! That's all folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.