rockit

By rockit

(055) Clydeside Cloudscape

I spent a few hours in Glasgow today, wandering in the sunshine and admiring the views. This shot shows the TS Queen Mary, the Glasgow Tower and the Glasgow Science Centre. After walking around for an hour or so I sat down in front of the Science Centre and as I watched people passing by on bicycle I wished that I had my bike with me as it's so much quicker to get around compared to walking. As I was sitting watching the world go by, a van pulled up at the kerb and the driver unloaded about a dozen bikes to a bike storage area. In the space of five minutes I checked out the logo on the bikes, downloaded the 'nextbike' app to my phone, registered with a website, and hired bike. For the next hour I enjoyed the freedom of bicycle transport and explored much further than I could do on foot, all with a huge grin on my face - what a brilliant scheme! I'm now planning my next visit to Glasgow, based on bus or train in to the city, but with bicycle hire from then on. The extra photo is a shot from the north bank of the River Clyde, at Govan, looking towards the tall ship 'Glenlee' which is in front of the Riverside Museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.