Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Weatherwise new records

Blossoms in the trees and the newsreport spoke of anew record in warm temps for today's date.. it's like I took along the warmth from Greece as I learned from Sweetheart and friends that another storm has hit them hard there.. Okeanos its named....
Here   some images of its impact on rural roads in the province of Chania and here life footage of the collaps of the Keriti bridge today what cuts off the village of Alikianos from reaching Chania.
The road to Omalos has also suffered damage. Crazy to imagine that many roads I drove are no go places now! That bridge I've crossed many times.

So much infrastructure must be restored now on Crete due to the bad weather and the touristical Season is about to start; I'd seen the first busloads on February's initial week already and from April 1st onwards the full flow will come again. Apart from infrastructure, crops of oranges and lemons are lost now too as the storm and rain made them fall from their treebranches. I feel so sorry for the Cretans now. Sweetheart wisely stayed indoors with the heater on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.