When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Album of the Year

Little different today. As we hurtle towards the end of 2012, I want to take a moment to salute my personal album of the year for 2012.

First, strictly speaking, this is out next year. But the band Fidlar had copies on tour with them last week.

FIDLAR stands for Fuck it dog, life's a risk. They trade in surfy garage punk, with lyrical concerns covering such things as Cheap Beer, Cocaine, Skateboarding and smoking weed. High minded stuff I'm sure you'll agree. Nothing that hasn't been done before, but done with such style, humor and brilliant tunes, that it's really knocked me on my arse.

Honarable mentions to all three Melvins lps and Whitelung.

Check out Fidlar here if you're interested.

Also, if you like vinyl (and lets face it, if you don't, there's something far wrong with you...) you should go check out my mate Gav's blipjournal, thedailyrecord, which is great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.