Depth

Boyz II Men - I Remember

For the most part it was a pretty bad day. Some tough situations but I just had to keep reminding myself that it could have been worse. Upon reflection and venting with my closest friend, things could have been a lot worse. Sometimes when all the difficulty is focused onto one point it seems a lot stronger than it really is. Difficult times are often distributed over a "wider surface" or a greater span of time and just like slowly learning everyday you eventually become a more powerful person. Were you to just learn or receive everything instantaneously you would probably overload or fall.

I look back on times that felt just as difficult and just laugh. I remember when I was six and felt like the world would end when my teacher threatened to tell my parents that I wasn't going to class or when I received my first detention. I remember I had a piano examination 2 hours before a lead stage performance at school. I remember being kicked by a street vendor in Paris because I told him to "F" off due to his incessant sales techniques. Walking 14km home in the rain in Toyota city in Japan that I hadn't even lived long enough in to know... Small challenges, nothing special. I'll get over it.

It's interesting playing with focus and if you play it just right you can see things that you wouldn't have before. Some people call it hindsight. Hopefully it'll help with foresight too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.