and through the wire...

By hesscat

The Colour Of Spring

Well almost...

Late last night I was saddened to hear that Mark Hollis of Talk Talk had died at age 64. I wouldn't be surprised if most people hadn't been aware of him or his band as their 5 albums span only 9 years from 1982-1991. Although I knew them in the early eighties and assume I went to see them given I have a gig poster, it wasn't until I got the album The Colour of Spring that they became one of my favourites. It was I think a turning point in their musical style that was not really comparable to anybody else back then and still doesn't sound dated, although I will put The Blue Nile in that category too. Many late evenings were spent crashed out on the sofa in the dark listening to both bands, a perfect way to end the day. Mark only recorded one more solo album in 1998, which I just found out about today and will need to listen to it, then retired from the music industry to spend time with his family. While they were not well known, I have been seeing loads of tweets from artists I follow saying how much TT had influenced them which I had not really thought about before but see it now. 6 Music has a series of programmes scheduled at the weekend which I will be listening to and I am looking forward to. Hmmm.... as they said, Life's What You Make It.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.