Through A Glass Softly

Actually, the Hina dolls display went up yesterday, but I thought I would save the blip until today because I knew that it would complement today's musical link quite nicely. Because, No. 28 on my Sony Walkman countdown is Philip Glass with 14 songs. All of those songs come from his magnificent soundtrack for Paul Schrader's beautiful biopic, Mishima, about the controversial Japanese author Mishima Yukio. Philip Glass would probably move up a couple of places if I ever purchase his equally magnificent Koyaanisquatsi soundtrack, but as far as I can tell you have to pay really silly money for it (and I already had to pay silly money for Mishima.) 

If the opening song sounds familiar, that's because it was also used in The Truman Show. Music this good cannot be used just once, after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.