Jerryseadog

By Jerryseadog

Giving

I made this pot in 1980 in Cornwall, soon after I had learnt to throw. I have never sold it or given it away, because I liked its simple shape and it has sat on my kitchen window sill for 39 years, often full of sweet peas from my garden.

A few days ago I had an appointment with a friend who recently lost her partner, father of her children and love of her life. My appointment was on the 10th Anniversary of losing my wife, Carol, very suddenly to meningitis. I am not afraid of talking about death but giving her a tissue wrapped 'happy memory' pot made it all much easier. Ironically, the recipient is 39 years old too.
I have made a new pot, the same shape as this to replace it on my window sill and every time I look at it I will remember Rory too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.