Flashing lights

I began to chuckle when I realised that the looming road ahead had disappeared in a circle of flashing lights.  Fleet Moss was going to be either the easiest or the hardest ascent of all time.  

With the hint of a visual migraine at almost the very bottom of the climb, I downed all tablets I could lay my hands on, texted Rich and set off up.  I had tried to reason that walking would be OK but my brain wasn't really up for that.  So, instead, I switched on Bex's Best Bimbling mode and began trundling with a slowly disappearing landscape ahead.  

It was quite focusing really; all that there was to concentrate on was a couple of feet diameter of tarmac.  The time went by remarkably quickly actually, with just a bit of huffing and puffing near the top.  Turns out, it wasn't the best or the worst, simply the slowest ascent of all time!

I was more concerned about not being able to see on the way down but luckily, as I topped out, the blue sky began to reveal itself - my vision was clear and I was on a roll down to Kettlewell.  I was hoping for a chemist there but the corner shop was about it so I headed on home, not feeling too bad but knew that time wasn't really on my side.

Luckily, my legs were on fire (well, smouldering (that's good for me!)) and I made good time home, stopping at the pharmacy in the village before making my way up the hill.

On the train to Kirkby Stephen this morning, I was chatting to a lovely fella who was taking his electric bike to the same area.  I knew that the sun was in my eyes and bothering me but didn't make the effort to move as I didn't want to seem rude.  Swapping texts with Sarah and reading up a bit, I've discovered, in winter, sun-sensitive migraines can come on an hour or so after the event.  Given I was also cycling into the low sun for the first couple of hours, it seems likely that this is what happened.

And guess what? I spotted my third barn owl in a week about an hour from home - that kept me going!

It's actually been stupendous, despite the migraine.  Suffering a bit now though.  Fingers crossed it won't last long. 

Switching off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.