The second half of life..

By twigs

Robin

Had the best sleep last night :)  I'm not sure why......feelig relaxed maybe?  Fresh mountain air?  Peaceful surroundings?  A level van?!  It was a little surprising as I didn't actually go to bed until after midnight having spent the best part of an hour photographing the stars and the milky way under glorious crystal-clear mountain skies.  It's one of those things that takes a bit of practice but I do think I have achieved better results that the last time I did it.......whenever that was!  See my favourite from the series 

Quiet morning soaking in the peacful surroundings then headed out for a walk to Sylvan Lake.  The DoC sign said it would take 40 minutes.  These walk times however don't factor in my ability to stop often, become totally distracted by wildlife, trees, moss, or a myriad of other things going on in the forest.....nett result - my 80 minute walk took over three and a half hours.  

One of the highlights had to be these darling wee South Island robins.  I met the first one only minutes into the walk but both he and I were distracted by some other walkers who stopped and talked.  No worries.  #2 arrived further into the walk and was very happy to hop around, just inches away from me.  #3 was relatively shy and only stayed a short time - he seemed very intent on finding food and wasn't the least bit interested in chatting!  Then came this fella - #4.  I walked around a bend and immediately spied him sitting with his back to me on a low branch.  He turned to look at me, clearly thought I was OK to spend time with, hopped off his branch and over to my feet.  It didn't take him long at all to rustle up the curiosity and courage and actually hop _onto_ my foot!  Once there he happily pecked away at laces, socks, my legs, the odd sandfly......he even left his calling card on my shoe!  By this stage I was standing stock still and two couples had approached - one from each direction.  Seeing what was going on, they had also stopped and watched.  This wee bird had all of us totally enthralled for probably getting on for 10 minutes.  When he hopped off my foot after a few minues, one couple began to walk closer.  He turned, hopped over to them then began a similar exploration of first, her shoes (see extras) then his shoes.  I'm sure that we're not the only ones he's ever had this kind of an exchange with, but it did feel very special.  

Arriving back at the van mid afternoon it became an easy decision to stay here another night, just to enjoy the peace and nature a little longer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.