A day in the life

By Shelling

Go back to bed

On todays walk I passed some beehives. I went closer to have a look and found that one out of five hives was a wake already. I tried to tell them that it's far too early yet, it's going to be frost out here in a day or two. The ones that were out were really slow but one of them actually took off while I was standing there. Temperature might have been ten degrees outside the hive but the sun was shining bright, I've no idea how warm it can be inside the hive but there are hardly any flowers at all to gather nectar from and to live of out here. I feel quite protective about them and tried to talk him out of leaving but he went off to who knows where. I hope he made it back. 

Bees, bumblebees and other nectar gathering insects are getting scarce. They are thought to have diminished by more than 50% in the last 50 years. This depends on climate change, chemicals, nature being changed into cities forests and farming says WWF. They say that every third munch is pollinated by a bee. Help them survive by planting flowers, building bee and bumblebee hotels and eat ecologically grown things. If we're lucky and help a little we can still eat apples, drink wine and smell spring flowers in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.