Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The foolishness of being human

After an intense session with our therapist (examining how difficult it is to feel entitled to take up space, to want attention, to want equally to be invisible and to be seen, to have needs, to ask and to receive) we stopped for some pastry at a nearby market and deli, and Sue found this book and started laughing. I am so grateful for laughter. Without it we would be a damn soap opera. With it, we are simply fools. We see that we are both sweet, dear people, always eager to do the right thing, be generous, be thoughtful and kind, be fair and reasonable. How hard can that be?

Then we came back to Sue’s house, and I asked her to make a photo of me (Extra) with my new liberated haircut. I am at last back to what feels like my “authentic” hair. I wore my hair like this for years and then began to feel I am too old, too wrinkly, too something or other to pull it off. But this is the haircut I have always loved best. Free, fun to touch, uncompromising, unapologetic. I think seeing my great grandmother and appreciating her strong, angular face has freed me to claim this face, just as it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.