Three Temperatures of Norma

At Photo Group, we had to shoot a human subject, experimenting with unconventional camera white balance settings. My darling, ever-patient Norma was gracious enough to model for me.

The Auto setting accurately balanced the light for shade on a sunny day which is about 5500K colour temperature. The 7500K image on the left was manually balanced for a deeply overcast day and is rendered too warmly for the actual conditions. The 4000K image on the right was set up to be lit by nominally white LED lights and consequently is too blue for the actual prevailing light.

I had been hoping for some interesting creative effect from the experiment buuuuut I'll probably go conservative and stick with boring auto most of the time.

Anyway, as I was going to do this anyway, I thought I could use it as a blip too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.