NellieD

By NellieD

Time ball

I had a trip to Bolton today to take my suit jacket to the tailors so he could shorten the sleeves. My husband has been using the same guy for years, and his mum and dad before him, so at least I know he'll do a good job - and I won't feel like I'm wearing someone else's jacket now!

I walked up the street and there were so many things to blip, I didn't know which way to click first - so will definitely be back to take some more when I pick up my jacket next week. My extra was the door of the church and I really loved the green highlight. From experience, I thought I would upload it now in case it was sandblasted clean at the weekend!

I noticed the plaque on the building before I saw the clock tower and the time ball. It reads:
The time ball astride the clock tower is a mechanism which was used prior to the time signal to allow accurate setting of watches and clocks. It rises at 12.55 and drops on the stroke of 13.00 and is linked by electronic signal to the time ball in Greenwich, London. It is one of only two functioning time balls in the UK and was restored in 2008 by Prestons of Bolton.

The time ball at the Greenwich Observatory was installed in 1833 and has dropped at 1 pm every day since then.

Quote for today:
Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.
- Carl Sandburg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.