More postcards

But now sorted and beginning to be organised. I had not realised just how many postcards I had - it has taken me several hours this afternoon to go through them. Now a large batch, of no use to anyone, has gone to be recycled. There is a box full which I will try to sell/give away. And I am left with several piles of ones I want to keep. Ordering a postcard album which will hold 100 cards has focused the task of deciding which to keep, as each card has had to make a case for itself to try to avoid being discarded. I am just about down to 100 now. 

What I had not realised either was that as a child I was so into postcard collecting that I wrote the date on the back of most of the ones I bought. So I have spent a lovely time putting them in order and thereby plotting the places we went to. When I was trying to do this with the few photos I had, in order to create a childhood book, it was very difficult. Now if I had had these dated cards, it would have been much easier. In the blip is a 1958 photo of my mum and me (me wearing a coat made my my mum, complete with fur lined muff!). I did not know where it was and now I do - we were at Morecambe and Blackpool with my grandparents and I even have a postcard of the place where we stayed. And now the funny little picture of us with friends posing front of 'that' station makes sense - we were on holiday in Wales and I have lots of postcards of the places we went to. Memories!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.