der Rundlokschuppen in Pankow

Here's my  DS entry  in all it's very derelict glory & a short explanation.
"The round engine shed was built in 1893, as one of the last of its kind. 24 tracks could be operated via the turntable. In the end, round engine sheds had no future because they could no longer accommodate the locomotives, which were getting longer and longer. In 1997 the Pankow-Heinersdorf freight and marshalling yard, once the largest in Germany, was finally closed down."
I went back today for this image after speaking to the office in charge of listed buildings at Pankow Townhall .At present a case is in the courts regarding the future of this amazing work . Vandals have done much but I was informed that a buyer wants to make it safe and ..What then I've no idea . .I met a young Frenchman with tripod and super camera and together we did some shots through the fence .Great fun talking cameras etc .I gave him a map re how to get to Bernau from here and the old barracks ..By this time I was ravenous so called for my extra at Zaim .It was as ever wonderful .I can honestly say I no longer feel derelict ....
Thanks a lot to Marlieske for hosting the DS challenge ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.