Common Redpoll #24

After yet another tip off from the nice birders down here, today I headed to Blashford Lakes. I arrived at around 10am and after a quick orientation from a nice volunteer, I was directed to the Ivy North Hide where a bittern had been seen recently. I arrived to find only 3 people in the reasonably spacious hide, but they had not seen it yet. But continuing my lucky streak within 10 minutes I had spotted it crossing a little gulley in the reedbed - great spot Diane!  Of course I was far too slow with my camera and anyway there are only 2 openings in the windows - just one way glass for most of the hide. 
Then followed an hour of watching every little flutter of any reed just in case it was the bittern again - and it did keep popping it's head up every now and again. I did manage a few shots through the quite dirty glass, but they were not very good - one in extras. 
It was more of a joy to just watch my first bittern as it skulked throughout the reedbed - it's camouflage is amazing. What a fabulous end to the week. 
Afterwards I went to the woodland hide to see if there was anything interesting there - some lovely siskins and one solitary redpoll.  It was a lovely looking bird, but the opportunities for a decent shot were once again curtailed by the lack of openings in the windows. Whilst I was there a very nice man pointed me in the direction of Holton Lee saying that the light was much better - so off I went :) 
It was a lovely little hide overlooking a small patch of water and a huge amount of feeders. Sure enough, the light was a bit better and I had a nice couple of hours watching a similar array of birds - this common redpoll was my favourite but I also liked the siskin (extra). I also saw all the tits, great spotted woodpeckers, pheasant, nuthatch, rabbits and squirrels, so it was a great day. 

I have so enjoyed my week in Dorset and it will be a shame to leave the area before I have finished visiting all it has to offer, but I am sure we will be back one day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.