My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Round, round get around I got around

Groundhog marathon
4:16:02


105.5 laps of the track for full marathon distance. One of the -mentally- toughest marathons I've ever done. The first 40 or so laps were fine but that's where the monotony (and lack of training) started to kick in and I started to find it harder and harder and harder going round and round and round...until I realised there were cola bottles of course...watching those last 30 laps tick down was hard going but -slowly- tick down they did and Aaron even joined me on my last lap (still in his coat) to help me actually get to pace me through to the finish...and get in on the blip.

Aaron, Louisa and Owen had come along to offer their -much needed- support. It was great having them there and the supply of Lucozade really helped as it seemed to stop my cramping calves at least enough to not have to stop every lap to stretch it out. Massive thanks too to Jo in her rainbow tutu for getting me through my tough bit of the race, getting me trotting along instead of walking.

All that said I think I actually enjoyed it, great organisation, great atmosphere, and everyone was really supportive. You did get to see people time after time after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.