Jervis Bay

Time to bail out of Sydney though it’s the start of the Mardi Gras - as we headed to get the hire car, exotics were already congregating at pavement cafes. And I got an upgrade to some huge truck - a Toyota Land Cruiser which at first I thought yay about till I drove into the traffic. Big walloping monster.
South we went, putting in the miles; a brief planning stop at Wollongong which, blow me, is Australia’s tenth largest urban area. On to Jervis Bay - where by chance there’s was a great little outdoor market right by the Maritime Museum! Bought my first bottle of wine - Corang Estate - from a woman from Ayrshire.
Time to put the monster through its paces down an unmetalled road to Pebbly Beach - a gorgeous beach with almost pet kangaroos boinging about the place.
So, to Batemans Bay and a funky little motel overlooking the boat thronged estuary with something of the Florida Project about it.
And the great news at breakfast was that we met a couple of the Arctic Monkeys technical road crew; I’d just nipped up for toast and came back to find the SK in conversation with them. The guy was from Leeds and was delighted I’d enjoyed the concert so much. Even asked if I’d want to pass any messages on (I didn’t). After they left, I beamed over at the SK who looked strangely unable to contain herself. Bugger, a set up! All untrue. I’ll get her back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.