The longest day

Just before Christmas Mr H was diagnosed with prostate cancer. Surgery was the decided treatment plan and we were told it would hopefully be in January, but may be February. Late last week it was scheduled for today.

I am pleased to say that it apparently all went well with no complications, and it was a relief to be able to go late afternoon with Miss H and sit and hold his hand for a while.

Added stress to me - which may sound odd to non brass banders - was having to let the band down late last week for the contest today. The band have looked after me from a distance keeping me informed. Sadly they came 5th, but I am told played really well.

It seems a long while since I fell for the tuba player in Boldon Colliery Band, but I’m so glad I did, and with the help of friends hopefully Miss H and I will have him back to full health very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.