A feather not in a cap

Back to work after a week away. Initially at the Class Reunion, and then two days at home. Although there were papers, some very earnest and informative such as that presented by the class Knight (Sir Richard Faull), I did not regard it as truly CPD for psychiatry. Thus, I took the whole week as annual leave. Sir Richard's presentation on brain plasticity, and its ability to replace and renew neurones, was brought to mind by tonight's sunset. 

I have chosen a different photo of the sunset than those that reminded me of Ricard's presentation. S-shaped swirls in the clouds were very like the area of the brain where all the regenerative stem cells are found, even in the elderly. Unfortunately my camera made the dark grey clouds a heavy black. While very dramatic it wasn't right, and I was unable to be the plastic moulder of a photographer that could restore the photo to what I saw. So I chose the extra.

It was almost my blip. But I didn't feel able to ignore the photo I took while pushing my pushbike up the hill of Grey's Avenue after an appointment in the central city late this afternoon. I did not touch the feather; where it lies is where I saw it.I did make a few adjustments to the light, as the camera must have 'decided' that the blue was unreal, and I restored it to the gentle but definite colour I saw. Some plasticity for this one.

I was welcomed back to inpatient work, although meetings from earlier responsibilities took me away from the ward for most of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.