Binnan gonnan dunnit.

I can't swear, with 100% accuracy, BUT, I think this may, possibly, be the 1st, or at most 2nd, Orchid for which I paid the full price.
I tend to wait until flowering is almost over & they're 1/2 the price, as I know full-well they will re-flower eventually.
;¬)
I've just had a census and counted 11 in at least 4 varieties.
Some years ago there used to be an alpine nursery/garden centre not many miles from Penrith, the owner of which boasted M.R.C.V.S. as his sole qualification.
Today I plucked up courage for a solo trip to Garden Wise near Dumfries. Do NOT misunderstand BTW, I wasn't suffering from fear so much as fear of memories. 
(I don't think I've been there, on my own, since I lost Alice)
The reason was an "Orchid Day" similar to the one(s) Jerra and I attended at Beetham.
OK - Where does the MRCVS fit into the narative? I can almost here the cogs turning. Well - the chap giving the talk had odd qualifications too:-
He was a Ship's Engineer by qualification(s).
I gained a couple of housepoints early on - he was asking what Orchids were, expecting somebody to say "Parasites", which, apparently, some folk think they are. I slightly spannered the works by saying "Epiphytes".
He was very good to listen to and, though I can't, NOW, state which splinter, I learnt a new splinter of Orchidculture.
I have NO idea how it occurred but I needed to mention Zygopetalum for some reason and, under Sodde's law, it was the only species he didn't have on the table; forcing him to raid the Centre's display for an example. (Possibly losing me the afore mentioned house-point)
He brought this one, which I couldn't resist - not so much out of guilt as out of scent, it was marvellous.
I left my partial paw on as an indication of its size; I needed to gently hold the other 3 flowers to one side to get a whole one alone.
Photo at home, but I've located the Garden centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.