Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Blue Skies

High winds were forecast last night, but the first hundred miles of my journey were calm and uneventful and I was feeling pretty smug and expecting to be home by ten thirty.  But as I crossed the border the first few flakes of snow appeared and it became apparent that there had been quite a dump earlier in the day.  I decided to keep going, with some trepidation, as the stretch of the A7 between Langholm and Hawick has very few signs of human habitation.  Not somewhere I'd like to get stuck.  It's thirty miles and in all I saw two other cars, a tanker and, hallelujah, a gritter!  It took an hour and a bit to get home, and I even managed to get up our hill and into the drive.  Just as well I was in the LandRover and TM had just recently instructed me in the use of the Yellow Button, which somehow helps when negotiating bendy roads and steep slopes in snow.

This morning the world around was still white but it all disappeared in the course of the day, at least down here.

The cats were pleased to see me, but my wee car is sulking and won't start. I seemed to fill the day with odd jobs and a trip to town for food. I took my camera but both batteries were flat there too, so it's another phone shot and another Canongate Bridge shot. 

We don't have any more trips lined up till the end of April, and I'm looking forward to being at home and getting on with neglected sewing projects and the garden - when it thaws/dries out a bit.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.