Jerome

I finally got around to visiting the old mining town of Jerome. It's beautiful. My Flickr account has a few more photos than here. It was great to see the town. Lots of the buildings predate statehood (1912), and it seems like half of them are former brothels. That's amusing. The area got snow a couple of weeks ago. It's still in the mountains above.

The Jerome Grand Hotel opened in 1926 as a hospital. Now it's a hotel with a restaurant called Asylum. In extras is the Hotel Connor, which opened in 1898. Inside is a bar called the Spirit Room. Michelle Branch's first album was named after that bar. She's from the area.

There supposedly are ghosts in lots of the buildings. I ate lunch at a restaurant called Haunted Hamburger. It was delicious, and the view was spectacular. No ghosts bothered me. I wandered around more and went to a winery where I had four samples of port. Yum.

Afterward, I drove through the mountains to Prescott Valley to see my friend Anne's parents. It was nice visiting with them. I hadn't seen them in ages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.