The second half of life..

By twigs

Dunedin Railway Station

Booking a taxi to get to the concert was impossible.......the bus ride would be OK going to the concert, but I really didn't fancy a 3/4 hour return after the concert.  The only option left then was to head to town in the van, find a park and stay there.  Turned out there were heaps of parks just behind the railway station and, had I known this was the way of the camper-van-community, I could have got down there early, found a space in a dedicated area and parked up here overnight too!  Ah well - I'll know next time.  

Spent some time in town, firstly at the historic railway station and then on a little retail excursion as I'd been told the stadium could be quite cold and I certainly hadn't packed for cooler weather!  

I headed to the venue early in order to soak up the atmosphere which was incredible........33000 people (that's about half the population of Nelson I think!!!) piled into row upon row of seating and all eager to enjoy a trip down memory lane with some of the finest musicians of the 20th century.  Yes, the'ye older and, having lost main-man Glen Frey in 2016, they weren't the *same* Eagles, but they certainly were great!  Quite moving too that Glen Frey's son, Deacon, has joined them for this tour.......and he's gooooood!

Loved the concert (extras), the build-up, the atmosphere.......sooooo well worth the trip in so many ways :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.