La vida de Annie

By Annie

Amanecer.

Dawn. Not something I usually see as I'm too lazy in the morning to get up, but today, after zero sleep, I was up by 6am, preparing to go to the hospital for my shoulder op. All the usual stuff: filling forms, BP check, tagged and put to bed in a backless nightie. After some hours it became clear that something was not right, and sure enough, word came that my op was delayed owing to the arrival of some emergency cases. At first they thought I could be done later, but finally I was told it would have to be rescheduled, hopefully for next week. The ward orderly, a cheerful, chubby and very hairy man, asked if I was from England. I suppressed the desire to say No Shit Sherlock (I was quite tired and hungry and grumpy by then) and said yes - from Liverpool. He said, in very good though accented English "Me, I'm from Manchester". Really? said I in surprise. "No, I'm only joking" said the funny guy with a winning grin.
The next thing to go wrong was the demise of the internet access back home, so not able to post today's blip or tell my family I'm OK. At time of writing (Tuesday) it was finally fixed, but being without communications was a worrying experience. First world problem I know, but you get so used to instant access to things and people....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.