flavia13

By flavia13

NORTHERN'S NEWEST TRANSPORT??

Hello all,

Sorry this is so late (it's now 9:15pm) but I've had a really lovely day, took far too many photos and by the time I had processed them and exported them to the right file it was just getting very late.

Hubby and I took our friend G to Leyland Commercial Vehicle Transport Museum today. I've never been before and G loves technical things and anything to do with transport so I knew he would like it.  I thought Hubby might like it a little and to be honest I thought I'd get bored and would spend my time reading my book in the cafe.  Well I was totally wrong.

For a start it's really easy to find, only 3/4 of a mile from junction 28 of the M6.  It's a lovely museum with really lovely volunteers and a good little cafe.  I suppose it helped having my camera but I ended up taking about 200 photos.  Clambering over carriages, busses etc and even having a go at the children's simulated lorry drive (well it was fixed but still fun)!!

We had a very nice coffee and then spent a very lovely two hours in the museum followed by very nice sandwiches in the cafe.  

It only has a small free car park, with a few free extra spaces outside, but it is close to a large pay for car park. I think it was great to go on a Tuesday term time. There were a few people in there but not many but I would imagine it gets quite busy at weekends and holidays.

If you like the Lakeland Motor Museum you would probably like this but obviously not if old transport bores you.  There was a lot of information about most of the exhibits.

I must admit if I'd seen the news about the stabbings in Leyland first I would probably not have gone, but I'm glad I did.

The day finished by hubby making us pancakes as a surprise - I'd just not realised it was Shrove Tuesday!!??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.