Thinking inside the box

Was I against experimenting on animals? Of course I was! I mean, maybe testing life-saving drugs or... Was I against experimenting on animals when the aim was merely to demonstrate something that was already known? That was easier. I told her yes and she made a satisfied tick on her clipboard. She told me about an experiment where they put an animal in a box and, half the time, when they opened the box, the animal was dead. I was disgusted. Then she told me about another experiment that was on a really large scale - hundreds, thousands - she hinted that it might be a lot - more monkeys were locked up in a lab full of potentially dangerous machinery for, like, ever.

I was convinced. By the time I walked away, I was a paid-up member of End Animal Thought Experiments Now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.