A Monarch Butterfly in the making

Another hot one, top temperature of 30° but now cooler with the wind change this evening.
This little guy last seen here has been munching away merrily on the Swan Plant.  I've been keeping an eye on it, and yesterday afternoon he went "walkies".  No where to be seen, I was very disappointed.  However, Doug spied him on a nearby lavender stalk.  
My motherly instincts came to the fore.....cut off the lavender stalk and attached it to the trunk of the swan plant. (I know, pathetic), it transferred itself back to its "pantry".  It was still there this morning, but not doing any feeding, then this afternoon it attached itself to the underside of the leaf (on the left).  
I set to and photographed it hanging there. Aha, blip sorted.  
I couldn't believe my eyes, within  20 minutes from me photographing it, the process of metamorphosis had started, shown on the right.  Fascinating.  
Now I have to wait up to 2 weeks for the butterfly to emerge.

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.