Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

King of the castle

I spent the whole of yesterday at the South Lincs Flora Group annual planning meeting - a buffet lunch followed by a review of the past years' recording and sorting out a programme of field meetings for 2019. Everyone felt it went well and I was really touched when the group thanked me for all the work I put in - its lovely to be appreciated. 

This morning was bright and breezy, with temperatures much more suitable for early March, so I decided to go for a stroll round Swaddywell Pit to clear my head before starting work. As I entered the site the sheep who graze the orchid-rich grassland gave me a hard stare, possibly wondering whether I had any food. The leader of the group used a convenient anthill to get a bit of extra height!

I had a lovely walk round and spotted the first flowering colt's-foot of the year, as well as sweet violets and lots of cherry-plum. Unfortunately the tree sparrows that visit the site were elsewhere, as they always seem to be when I go for a walk with my camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.