Amaryllis race

Wednesday 6th March 2019

Backblip

At Christmas Mum gave me the one on the left and I bought the one on the right. Unfortunately the one on the right had a difficult start in life. The stem had already started to grow in the box and had withered. I cut it off and planted the bulb "just in case". At the end of January I nearly threw it away as there were no signs of life but Mum reported hers (also with a difficult start in life) had started to grow, I gave mine a reprieve.

The one on the left flowered and was blipped. At the same time the one on the right started to show signs of life. It has struggled but has gradually grown. The one on the left was beautiful then the flower went over but immediately it started to grow a new stem. It has just overtaken the other one. 

I keep talking to them and I give the one on the right a lot of extra encouragement. "Even with a difficult start in life, you can do it, you can be beautiful too." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.