Library

In my lunch hour today, I visited the Ewart Library to return my book * and saw that the stained glass window, which had been removed for restoration, was now back in its place and looking rather grand. There was a sign at the bottom of the stairs forbidding the public entry, but for you, dear Blippers, I risked losing my library card to take a photo. 


Here's some info found on Wiki: "Stained glass window, Ewart Library The central panel shows a winged figure of St. Michael, patron saint of Dumfries, above the town motto "A' Loreburn". This was an ancient rallying cry, for defenders of the town to gather by the Loreburn stream if an attack was expected. Ironically, the Ewart Library was built over the source of this stream, and has suffered considerable problems with damp because of it."


* The book I've just finished reading was by forensic anthropologist Sue Black, "All That Remains - A Life In Death".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.