Bradders

By Bradders

Mountain Quarry

Up at 0640 rushed breakfast and lunch making and then on the bus to the university.

Met the ODC at 0800 and then we drove over to the climbing. It was a hot hot day, probably about 28 but in the sun all day and climbing on hot rocks. This photo really doesn't do it justice but it's all I have. A few people had sticky climbing shoes because of the heat from the rock.

I did maybe 8 or 9 routes, all relatively easy grades, but it was mainly about going through the motions and practicing technique today.

Re-taught myself the bowline, equalised clove hitch, two ways of tying an alpine butterfly, figure 9, cleaning a route. Helped teach and advise some of the newbies when I could.

The harder routes were so difficult because of the lack of friction for hands from the suncream and sweat.

Afterwards, back to the hostel for 1630. I think I'll order $10 Indian and catch the sunset later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.