Lichens on Hawthorn

Friday Backblip

As it was International Womens’ Day, I’ll start with a few words for Philosphy Friday from Gina Carey.

A strong woman looks a challenge in the eye and gives it a wink.

Words that made me smile and which I’d do well to take on board.

I set out to blip some of the beautiful white blossom that adorns many of our local trees. Two people I passed told me the ’May’ is lovely, but they were doubly wrong: Firstly ‘May’ is the common name for Hawthorn, which flowers in... yes, May (aka Whitethorn) Secondly the other spring blossom with thorns is Blackthorn which does flower in March and April. However the trees lining our little lane have no thorns and are Cherry plums. Every day is a learning day.

So anyway, I ended up finding a Hawthorn in Goldings, with some old berries on it... and some lichens. I believe they are the same two lichens identified on Magnolia in my garden last year. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2428202995628902288

The yellow one is very likely Xanthoria polycarpa. The grey green one I now think is Physcia tenella.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.