caitielou

By caitielou

My star

I know I promised everyone a tree picture today, but I have to show off my star instead. I'm awfully proud of it. A couple of weeks ago a woman came to one of my schools who is a professional story-teller and in the morning she told the kids a story using origami puppets and in the afternoon she did origami with each class. They made Santas, stars, and those fancy origami boxes. A very interesting lady--she works for NGO's and travels to third world countries with nothing but origami paper in her suitcases and volunteers in schools and orphanages. So after that I had this great idea that I would make origami ornaments for our tree since we have no money, especially not for Christmas tree ornaments that I won't be able to take home with me. I made this star from instructions that I found on google and two-sided wrapping paper. Pretty great, huh? Other than my so-great-star, our tree has red lights (5?), red and silver tinsel (free from Nick), and sparkly gold balls (1.50?) which you can see one of in this photo. Next week with my classes we are making various ornaments, so I'll add those to the tree as well and then I think I'll make some more origami ornaments also to finish it off. Not tomorrow, however, as I will be at avalanche training all day. And it won't be canceled this time! Unfortunately the training isn't on skis, though. We'll be snowshoeing and practicing using our beacons. We'll see if I get any good pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.