Craig's Journal

By Fishingplus

Steeple Clock - antique

I have a clock collection that ranges from old collectables to clock cases I have built in my woodworking phase. From time to time I will post some photos of them. This is a wonderful steeple clock. I guess the reason for the name is obvious. In this case it is a one day mechanical movement (I have to remember to wind it daily, sometime I forget!) that I believe was originally purposed as an alarm clock. There is a bell inside that rings joyfully when the alarm goes off. Other then that it is a pendulum movement. I do not wind the alarm, since there is not shut off mechanism until the spring has run its course. Amazing to me that some of these old clocks continue to run - a testimony to the design and machining of the clock movement from so many years ago. The one challenge with it is that it does not keep very accurate time, and not matter fiddling with it, it still has a mind of its own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.