MikeWest

By MikeWest

Stark and White

Rain today! Then as the temperature dropped, freezing rain and finally light snow again. Not pleasant to photograph in, so I opened the garage window and tried my hand at something minimalist.

I had noticed this shrub several times over the recent weeks and thought it might serve as such. I liked the way it appears to cascade down a hill which helps to create an interesting shape. The dark twigs stark against the white snow. At first I thought that's all it should be, sort of Michael Kenna black and white, or monochrome if you're pedantic.

Then I noticed the roots that crept in to the bottom right of the frame,  some animal footprints and finally the cornice creating a line in from the left. I also began to appreciate the warm red brown tones of the plant and decided to keep the image in subtle colour.

I tried it as a vertical which gave a falling, tumbling sensation, which I quite liked, but the plant was cut off against the upper left edge of the frame. In the end decided on landscape orientation, because I could provide space all around it emphasizing the isolation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.