A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Weather

Wind was certainly refreshing today. I went for a walk along the beach to see if I found anything interesting washed up. I didn't think I did but when I examined the couple of shells I brought back, I identified the Ocean Quahog (in extra) a clam which is the oldest living animal and can live to be hundreds of years old. 

The oldest discovered quahog was Ming (named after the Chinese dynasty when it was born) also known as Hafrún (an Icelandic womans name which translates as Mystery of the Sea). I can't decide which I like best. Anyway, when scientists opened Ming/Hafrún to discover how old he/she was, they killed it. 507 since you ask.

I hope mine died a more natural death. Maybe it was born when Walter Scott was alive?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.