jjdphoto

By jjdphoto

That's All Custom

That was a famous saying of my dads, whenever he saw a really cool or unique iron & steel project. This weekend I got a chance to go into the city and photograph a bridge that my dad did the iron work on. At the time it was a big deal for Chicago as it was a sign of bridging the downtown area to a resurgent West Side. It is a tangible reminder of the permanence of my dads work and a bit of a legacy that he left in the city. But this bridge pales in comparison to the legacy that he left on me and our family.
I consider it a blessing, that he invested in me, shared his wisdom and left a positive impression on me and our family. I often tap into those small nuggets he left with me and would give anything for just a couple more. He told me, when I started a family of my own, that kids don't come with an instruction book - - that was spot on and true for the way he raised his kids. He didn't follow a book, "it was all custom."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.